Search results for:
No result found! Try with different keywords!
Advertisement
Livestream Reading Waka T. Brown with Van Hoang

Livestream Reading: Waka T. Brown with Van Hoang

Tue Jan 25, 2022

Livestream Reading: Waka T. Brown with Van Hoang

Time Tue Jan 25 2022 at 07:00 pm to 08:00 pm

(add to calendar)

Online

Advertisement

Livestream Reading: Waka T. Brown with Van Hoang, 25 January | Online Event | AllEvents.in Livestream Reading: Waka T. Brown with Van Hoang
Annie Bloom's welcomes back Portland author Waka Brown for the livestream launch of her new novel, Dream, Annie, Dream. Waka will be in conversation with fellow Middle Grade author Van Hoang, whose new novel is Girl Giant and the Jade War.

Please register in advance for this Zoom event: https://www.annieblooms.com/event/livestream-reading-waka-t-brown-van-hoang

About Dream, Annie, Dream:

In this empowering deconstruction of the so-called American Dream, a twelve-year-old Japanese American girl grapples with, and ultimately rises above, the racism and trials of middle school she experiences while chasing her dreams. As the daughter of immigrants who came to America for a better life, Annie Inoue was raised to dream big. And at the start of seventh grade, she’s channeling that irrepressible hope into becoming the lead in her school play. So when Annie lands an impressive role in the production of The King and I, she’s thrilled . . . until she starts to hear grumbles from her mostly white classmates that she only got the part because it’s an Asian play with Asian characters. Is this all people see when they see her? Is this the only kind of success they’ll let her have—one that they can tear down or use race to belittle? Disheartened but determined, Annie channels her hurt into a new dream: showing everyone what she’s made of. Waka T. Brown, author of While I Was Away, delivers an uplifting coming-of-age story about a Japanese American girl’s fight to make space for herself in a world that claims to celebrate everyone’s differences but doesn’t always follow through.

Waka T. Brown was the first American born in her family. She is a Stanford graduate with a Master’s degree in secondary education. She’s currently an instructor at the Stanford Program on International and Cross-Cultural Education (SPICE), authoring curriculum on several international topics, and winning the Association for Asian Studies’ national Franklin Buchanan Prize. She’s also been awarded the US–Japan Foundation and EngageAsia’s national 2019 Elgin Heinz Outstanding Teacher award for her groundbreaking endeavors in teaching about US–Japan relations to high school students in Japan and promoting cultural exchange awareness. While I Was Away is her debut book. She lives with her family in Portland, Oregon.

About Girl Giant and the Jade War:

In this sequel to Girl Giant and the Monkey King, Thom and her friends set off on a far flung adventure to save the Heavens and the Jade Emperor from certain destruction. Thom Ngoh thought the Monkey King was her friend—he taught her to control her super strength and to stand up for herself. But really he was just using her. He tricked her into stealing from the Heavens and releasing him from his 500-year prison. Now the Monkey King is waging a war against the Heavens and Thom must do everything in her power to fix the mess she made. Determined to prevent a war, Thom and her dragon friend Kha set off on an adventure across the Heavens to search for allies. But with the stakes higher than ever, the price for help may be more than Thom is willing to pay. This richly woven middle-grade fantasy series is full of humor, magic, and heart, and will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

Van Hoang earned her bachelor’s degree in English at the University of New Mexico and her master's in Library Information Science at San Jose State University. Girl Giant and the Monkey King was her debut novel. She was born in Vietnam, grew in up Orange County, California, and now resides in Los Angeles with her husband, kid, and two dogs.



Also check out other Virtual Events in Online, Arts Events in Online, Literary Art Events in Online.

Event Photos
Hosted by
About The Host: Annie Bloom's Books is a neighborhood independent bookstore located in Multnomah Village. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff awaits you!
Website Link: http://www.annieblooms.com
Are you the host?
Advertisement
Report a problem ?

Event Information

Date & Time

Tue Jan 25 2022 at 07:00 pm to 08:00 pm
Add to Calendar

Location

Online

Advertisement
Advertisement
Market Your Events Professionally!

Create an online presence of your events and make them easy to discover & share with the relevant audience.

Create Events