Create Event
Search results for:
No result found! Try with different keywords!
Advertisement
CINDERELLA IS DEAD & NEVER LOOK BACK with Kalynn Bayron & Lilliam Rivera

CINDERELLA IS DEAD & NEVER LOOK BACK with Kalynn Bayron & Lilliam Rivera

Sat Dec 05, 2020

CINDERELLA IS DEAD & NEVER LOOK BACK with Kalynn Bayron & Lilliam Rivera

Time Sat Dec 05 2020 at 05:00 pm to 07:00 pm

(add to calendar)

Online

Find Tickets on eventbrite.com
Advertisement

CINDERELLA IS DEAD & NEVER LOOK BACK with Kalynn Bayron & Lilliam Rivera, 5 December | AllEvents.in CINDERELLA IS DEAD & NEVER LOOK BACK with Kalynn Bayron & Lilliam Rivera
A virtual discussion with authors Kalynn Bayron and Lilliam Rivera about how they're finding modern inspiration in fairy tales and mythology

Readers of all ages are welcome to attend this intergenerational event. We especially invite readers ages 12+ who are interested in expansively reimagining ancient stories for contemporary audiences.

ABOUT CINDERELLA IS DEAD
Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of A Curse So Dark and Lonely.
It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl's display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.
Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella's mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all--and in the process, they learn that there's more to Cinderella's story than they ever knew . . .
This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they've been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.

ABOUT KAYLYNN BAYRON, AUTHOR OF CINDERELLA IS DEAD
Kalynn Bayron is a debut author and classically trained vocalist. She grew up in Anchorage, Alaska. When she's not writing you can find her listening to Ella Fitzgerald on loop, attending the theater, watching scary movies, and spending time with her kids. She currently lives in San Antonio, Texas with her family. @KalynnBayron

ABOUT NEVER LOOK BACK
Acclaimed author Lilliam Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love.
Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . .
Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives.
Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper .

ABOUT LILLIAM RIVERA, AUTHOR OF NEVER LOOK BACK
Lilliam Rivera is an award-winning writer and author of the young adult novels Dealing in Dreams and The Education of Margot Sanchez . Her work has appeared in The New York Times, Elle, Lenny Letter, Tin House, Nightmare Magazine, and Magazine for Fantasy & Science Fiction, to name a few. Lilliam grew up in the Bronx and currently lives in Los Angeles. www.lilliamrivera.com @lilliamr

ABOUT THE MODERATOR
Lydia Adegbola is the English Department chairperson at New Rochelle High School in Westchester County and seeks to use her role to redefine what it means to be literary. She believes in the tremendous impact of reading and will stop at nothing to help young people fall in love with the written word. Lydia is a graduate of New York University with a B.A. in Secondary English Education and a M. A. in School Building Leadership. She spent the first 15 years of her career as a high school English teacher and assistant principal in New York City and is delighted about the opportunity to spread her passion for reading with both teachers and students alike. When Lydia is not reading or “book clubbing”, she loves spending time with her amazing husband and rambunctious toddlers.
JUST FOR EDUCATORS
Boogie Down Books is an approved New York State provider of CTLE hours, and qualifying teachers will receive a certificate of completion for 2 hours after each meeting. (New York State-certified teachers must earn 100 CTLE hours per 5-year-period.)
Interested in bringing a group of students to the event? Discounted bulk tickets are available for schools. Contact us at aW5mbyB8IGJvb2dpZWRvd25ib29rcyAhIGNvbQ==.
JUST FOR STUDENTS
Students at any level (middle school, high school, college, graduate school) will receive a certificate of completion for 2 Literacy and Community Engagement hours that they may submit to their instructor or school if appropriate.
ABOUT THE SERIES
Boogie Down Books participates in the Well-Read Black Girl (WRBG) community by hosting WRBG Book Club Meet-Ups with the goal of amplifying diverse voices and supporting emerging writers of color. We are focused on empowering Black and Latinx writers, and we primarily read books by Black women. Readers who feel inspired by this mission are welcome to be a part of our community. We invite girls and womxn of all races, age groups, and readers who identify as non-binary to join us.



You may also like the following events from Boogie Down Books:

Also check out other Arts Events in Online, Literary Art Events in Online, Entertainment Events in Online.

Tickets

Tickets for CINDERELLA IS DEAD & NEVER LOOK BACK with Kalynn Bayron & Lilliam Rivera can be booked here.

Get Tickets

Ticket Information Ticket Price
Admission + BOTH books (supports us best!) USD 49
Admission + CINDERELLA IS DEAD (supports us best!) USD 27
Admission + NEVER LOOK BACK (supports us best!) USD 27
Full Admission Only (supports us!) USD 13
Pay What You Can Admission (suggested $5) Free
Free Admission Free
Event Photos
Hosted by
About The Host: Boogie Down Books™ is a start-up empowering Bronx kids, teens, caregivers, and educators through transformative reading experiences and inspiring community events. Follow us for info about pop-up events, mobile book sales, author events, and workshops.
Website Link: www.boogiedownbooks.com
Advertisement
Report a problem ?

Event Information

Date & Time

Sat Dec 05 2020 at 05:00 pm to 07:00 pm
Add to Calendar

Location

Online

Advertisement
Advertisement
Make Your Events Easy to Discover

Create an online presence of your events and make them easy to discover & share with the relevant audience.

Create Events