Search results for:
No result found! Try with different keywords!
Oh Snap, this is a past event! 😵

Do you want to get notified when this event happens again?

NTU Dorothy Cheung Debating Championships 2019


NTU Dorothy Cheung Debating Championships 2019

NTU Debating Society is proud to present NTU Dorothy Cheung Debating Championship 2019. The event will be held on 22nd, 23rd, and 24th March 2019. The debate will follow the Asian Parliamentary debating format, which is a 3-on-3 debate format. The team cap for this tournament is 72 teams. Adjudicator registrations will be following the N1 rule.

Adj Core:
- Bryan Yan
- Mohammad Sharique Zaman
- Brian Wong
- Valerie Lim Xuan
- Arthur Lee




1) Registration Timeline
-Preliminary Registration Phase: 22nd January to 3rd March
-Payment Deadline: 4th March
-Team Details registration deadline: 10th March

2) Registration Guidelines
-We will strictly be following the N1 rule for adjudicator registration (every team must register at least one adjudicator)
-Registration fee is SGD 50 per person for team members as well as adjudicators without accommodation. This amounts to SGD 200 for a team of 3 debaters and 1 adjudicator
-Registration fee is SGD 220 per person with accommodation
-Slots will be confirmed upon receipt of full payment before the payment deadline
-An additional late fees of SGD 10 per person will be charged for late registration (registration made after 15th February).
-Teams and adjudicators that have failed to pay by 4th March are liable to lose their slots. Any payments made after 4th March will have to include an additional fee of SGD 10 per person.

3) Registration for Adjudication Subsidy
-Registration for Adjudication Subsidy
Adjudicators willing to apply for partial or full subsidy are required to fill in their details at the link above with details of subsidy required and debate and adjudication CV.
-The schedule for adjudicator applications (independent/subsidised) is the same as the team registrations.
-The results for the Adjudicator subsidies will be informed via email along with the Slot and Waitlist. The amount and nature of the adjudicator subsidy will be decided solely on the discretion of the Adjudication Core and Organising Committee.

4) After the team details registration deadline no changes to the team will be accepted.


All novice teams must only consist of novice speakers.

The definition of a novice for the NTU DC uses elimination clauses. A novice is NOT:

1. Any debater who has participated in a major international tournament, eg: UADC, ABP, Australs, WUDC etc.

2. Any debater who has debated at WSDC

3. Any debater who has 2 or more breaks in the Open category of any tournament whose highest level of participation is varsity level. E.g. NTUDCs, SMU Hammers, WR-NUS Pre UADC debating championship

4. Any debater who has broken at any Pro-Ams or novice tournament will not be considered as an open break.

Anyone who passes the above clauses is eligible to be a novice. HOWEVER, the final decision lies with the Adjudication Core. The Adjudication Core is open to appeals; please contact the adjudication core beforehand, as appeals will not be accommodated on the day itself.


1. Teams will be allowed to iron man up to one preliminary round.

2. Iron manning will not be allowed for any of the out rounds.

3. When iron manning, only one team member may be absent. There must be at least 2 speakers on the team.

4. One speaker will be allowed to make 2 of the 3 main speeches. They may not be allowed to do the reply speech.

5. For the purposes of the break, the lower scoring speech made by the iron speaker will be accorded a 0 on the team tab.

6. For the purposes of the speaker tab, the iron speaker will be accorded the higher scoring of the two speeches made.

7. Teams must declare their intention to iron man to the CA team before the round begins.

8. Aside from having a team member who is not physically present, teams may also be allowed to iron man if a speaker feels that they are unable to discuss a particular topic due to certain equity concerns.


Day 1 (22nd March)
Venue: LT26
5.00pm - 5.45pm Reporting Time
5.45pm - 6.30pm Opening Ceremony
6.30pm - 7.00pm Round 1 Motion Release
7.00pm - 8.00pm Round 1
8.00pm - Dinner

Day 2 (23rd March)
Venue: LT26 & The Hive TRs
8.00am - 8.45am Reporting Time
9.30am - 10.00am Round 2 Motion Release
10.00am - 11.30am Round 2
11.30am - 12.30pm Lunch
12.30pm - 1.00pm Round 3 Motion Release
1.00pm - 2.30pm Round 3
2.30pm - 3.00pm Round 4 Motion Release
3.00pm - 4.30pm Round 4
4.30pm - 5.00pm Round 5 Motion Release
5.00pm - 6.30pm Round 5
6.30pm - 7.00pm Dinner

Day 3 (24th March)
Venue: LT26 & The Hive TRs
8.00am - 8.45am Reporting Time
9.30am - 10.00am Open Octos Motion Release
10.00am - 11.30am Open Octos
11.30am - 12.00pm Open Quarters / Novice Semis Motion Release
12.00pm - 1.30pm Open Quarters / Novice Semis
1.30pm - 2.30pm Lunch
2.30pm - 3.00pm Open Semis / Novice Finals Motion Release
3.00pm - 4.30pm Open Finals Motion Release
5.00pm - 6.30pm Open Finals
6.30pm - 7.00pm Closing Ceremony

Map NTU Debate, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore 639798, Jurong, Singapore
Loading venue map..
Report a problem

Are you going to this event?